Sergey Smbatyan


Nareh Arghamanyan


David Aaron Carpenter


Albert Garzia


Alexey Shor

Piano Concerto

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64

Tchaikovsky was particularly enthusiastic about his Fifth Symphony – which was actually his sixth, including the unnumbered Manfred Symphony – only to end up deeply dejected by a muted public reaction to the work. However, the symphony, a four-movement cyclical piece with a recurring main theme evoking the idea of fate, has grown immeasurably in stature since.

Under the direction of conductor Sergey Smbatyan, the MPO will also be joined by another Armenian musician – pianist Nareh Arghamanyan – for a performance of a piano concerto by Alexey Shor. The concert opens with a newly-commissioned work for orchestra and solo viola by Maltese composer Albert Garzia, bearing the name Kewn (existence).