Raoul Lay


Gillian Zammit


Claude Debussy

Prélude à l’Après-midi d’un Faune, L.86

Hector Berlioz

Les Nuits d’Été, Op.7

Symphonie Fantastique, Op.14

A night of 19th century French music opens with Debussy’s ground-breaking 1898 symphonic poem Prélude à l’Après-midi d’un Faune, before moving on to two works by Hector Berlioz.

Soprano Gillian Zammit joins the orchestra for a performance of Berlioz’s Les Nuits d’Été, a musical setting of six poems dealing with the progress of love, from youthful innocence, to loss, to ultimate renewal.

Symphonie Fantastique’s dreamlike nature had led Leonard Bernstein to describe it as the first musical expedition into psychedelia. It is a musical depiction of the story of an artist who takes opium after being brought to despair by unrequited love.