Michalis Economou


Pietro de Maria


Mikhail Glinka

Ruslan and Lyudmila Overture

Sergei Prokofiev

Piano Concerto No. 3 in C major, Op. 26

Dmitri Shostakovich

Symphony No. 10 in E minor, Op. 93

The famous overture to Glinka’s opera Ruslan and Lyudmila sets the scene before renowned Venetian pianist Pietro de Maria joins the orchestra for a performance of Prokofiev’s Third Piano Concerto.

Shostakovich’s Tenth Symphony, premièred following Stalin’s death in 1953, five years after his music was denounced by the Stalinist regime, and is believed to be a musical depiction of the dictator’s capriciousness and the terror of his rule.